Posted by: Jeoss | July 8, 2011

Alaska

Hey folks. Once again, apologies for my infrequent updates. Not much origami-ing has been going on. But I thought I should make a new post, as it will be my last for a few months. Here’s a quick summary of what’s been going on:

I graduated in the spring with a B.S. in Biology – Marine Emphasis, cum laude, with a minor in Japanese and Environmental Science. A few days after I got a job with Alaskan Observers, Inc., under which I will be trained and deployed on Alaskan fishing vessels as a North Pacific Groundfish Observer. Essentially, I’ll be doing biological sampling for management and conservation purposes. Training is three weeks, deployment will be around four months, and debriefing may last a week or two. I hope to be back at my new apartment in Bellingham around the end of October or the beginning of November.

Hopefully, in the off-time of my grueling work schedule, I will be able to work a bit on origami. But my number one priority will be contacting my wonderful girlfriend, family and friends, as I am expecting to be, for the most part, mentally and socially isolated.

This is definitely going to be an adventure, and will be a good test of my independence and will power. I’ll post an update when I return, and will hopefully have a few origami doodles to show for it.

Thanks for visiting, see you again in a few months!

Responses

  1. Congrats on the job, I’d have to say you’re luckier than most in getting one right out of a B.Sc.

    I look forward to seeing what you come up with in a few months time. Possibly some fish from the sounds of it.

  2. Thanks, Ryan!
    Yea, I was kind of tailored for this job, so the luck was only in catching wind of it. And yea, other than fish, I’ll be seeing crab, and hopefully some whales and albatross!


Leave a Reply

Categories

