Posted by: Jeoss | August 22, 2009

wow, that was fast…

It’s been an extremely long time since I have folded anything so I thought I’d play around with some pad of recycled paper from work. I thought it’d be fun to do something with a grid of equilateral triangles, and naturally, I started folding a tortoise. I didn’t want to do anything complex with the shell or anything, just get a good 3-D shape. After about four drafts and only two days, I came up with something I was fairly happy with. Two days? Wow, maybe all I needed to get going on designing was an extended break from it, hah! I decided to model it after my Russian tortoise, Boris.

Model: Russian Tortoise
Designer: Geoff Mayhew
Folded from 25cm Japanese Kami

There is actually a plastron too, but since I recently rolled over my camera with a car, rendering the LCD screen useless, my camera is much harder to use. At least it operates though. I plan on making a final version of this design with some decent paper and hopefully, I’ll have a better camera too…

Responses

  1. Hey this turtle is awesome!!!!

    can you make a cp??? or send to my mail please

    Congratulations great model

  2. Thanks! I have an incomplete CP, and because most the design is folded in three dimensions, I’m going to have to make up some notation or, even better, make a photodiagram. If or when I get it done, I’ll try to remember to e-mail it, but I’ll most likely post it up on this blog too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

