Posted by: Jeoss | December 24, 2008

merry christmas!

I woke up to find the Christmas book in my e-mail inbox. I was very impressed with the number and quality of the submissions, so hopefully I won’t have too much trouble finding time to give a few of them a go.

But now that means I can release the pictures of my submission!

Model: Armadillo Girdled Lizard
Designer: Geoff Mayhew
Folded from approx. 36cm unryu/foil/wax sandwich paper

This was a really fun model to design, and it’s actually fairly simple in structure. Just a lot of pleating, kind of like LaFosse’s alligator. Yet again, it’s pretty much from collapsing two bases, one after the other. However, when I release the CP in February, both bases will be represented in the same CP, which took forever to draw. Oripa could barely handle folding it without crashing every fifteen minutes. But I’m hoping someone who recieved the diagram in the Christmas book will give it a try and maybe post it up on the forums.

I’m assuming not a lot of people knew such a creature existed, and I sure didn’t before randomly google image searching for some subject to fold. The tail is supposed to be clamped inside of the mouth, it’s characteristic defensive pose, but my paper was a bit thick and due to a few mistakes in the paper making process I had to reduce to size of the paper. In the future I’ll fold a better one, maybe just double unryu with MC. But anyway, I’d appreciate any feeback! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

Categories

