Posted by: Jeoss | January 2, 2008

my first design!!!

Well, that I’m really satisfied with, anyway. First of all I’d like to thank Jared Needle for reminding me to finish my turtle. I spend about three or four hours per day for the past three days working on this thing and I’m finally proud of it. There’s a few kinks I need to work out, and I’ve made only two drafts with kami. A good, molded version will be made out of tissue foil in the next week hopefully.

Model: Hawksbill Sea Turtle
Designer: Geoff Mayhew
Folded from 35cm Kami

Drawing the CP is going to be a pain in the ass as usual. I’ll probably end drawing two CPs. The first shows how to fold the scutes, ending in a base that is still square. The second CP will look very similar to my 8×8 turtle base.Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Responses

  1. dude i know nothing about origami but wow nice design :) u got the skills man keep it up!
    if you want to improve it you can try to make the arms a little less broad, and if theres a way to make the outer scutes at the left and right meet somehow at the tail area, that would make it more lifelike.

    anyway im liking it as it is, good job! -rich

  2. Thanks Rich. This design was just a precursor to a later Hawksbill sea turtle I made (posted on Jan 20th). I also thought the fins were too fat so I slimmed them down in my revision. Please critique my later version!


Leave a Reply

Categories

